Administrative settings in Citavi 6 are managed in the Windows Registry. Settings can be found under HKLM (HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE), so that they can only be added or changed by administrators (normal users do not have the necessary rights to make changes to this part of the registry). Options listed below appear in the same order as the options in the MSI assistant.
DisableFirstStartAssistant [character string]
Setting the value to "true" will cause the Start Assistant to be skipped. This is the assistant that helps users set up Citavi 6 the first time it is started. (previous name: DisableWelcomeScreen).
DisableAutoCheckForLiveUpdate [character string]
Setting the value to "true" prevents Citavi from checking for automatic updates.
DisableAddOnStore [character string]
Setting the value to "true" means that the Add-On Manager (Tools > Manage add-ons) and the online macros for the Citation Style Editor will be made invisible or blocked. The manual installation of add-ons by registry key will not be affected.
DisableBackup [character string]
Setting the value to "true" means that Citavi cannot make automatic backups (the corresponding settings in the Options dialog are blocked). Manual backups and archive copies are not affected by this setting.
DisableCeip [character string]
Setting the value to "true" prevents usage information from being sent to the Citavi development team.
DisableProxyConfiguration [character string]
Setting the value to "true" means that the features for configuring proxies in the Options dialog are blocked.
ProxyType, Host, Port, UserName, Password, Expect100Continue
Here you can set the proxy configuration.
DisableCitaviAccount [character string]
Setting the value to "true" prevents log in to the Citavi Cloud and all the processes that go along with it.
SkipLoginWindow [character string]
The value "true" prevents the login window from being displayed when Windows is started if the user is not logged in.
DeleteUserSettingsOnShutdown [character string]
Setting the value to 0 ("Default") or no value means that the user settings will be deleted when users log out of their accounts.
Setting the value to 1 ("Always") means that the user settings are always deleted when Citavi is closed (even if the user remains logged in). The user will also be logged out every time Citavi is closed if this option is selected.
Setting the value to 2 ("Never") means that user settings are never deleted when Citavi is closed (even if the user logs out).
SettingsCacheFolder [character string]
The value CitaviUserData means that settings are saved in the folder %appdata%\Swiss Academic Software\Citavi 6\Settings. All additional files such as transformer files (i.e. import and export filters), citation styles, etc. are saved in the folder \Documents\Citavi 6\Settings (as was the case for Citavi 5 and previous versions).
Setting the value to "LocalAppData" or no value means that settings, transformer files, citation styles, etc. will be saved under %localappdata%\Swiss Academic Software\Citavi 6\Settings.
SharedCitationStylesFolder [character string]
Path to a shared folder with citation styles. This option can be useful for organizations that have an internal citation style which they want to be able to centrally make changes to.
SharedAttachmentsFolder [character string]
If the setting contains a path the Attachments folder will be saved under Path\Project name whenever a project is created (instead of Project-Path\Attachments).
DisableNewLocalProjects [character string]
Setting the value to "true" means that no local projects can be created (for example, if users should only work with DBServer projects). The opening of existing local projects is not affected.
DisableDbServerKnownProjectsPassword [character string]
When closing a DBServer project the connection string is written to the list of recently opened projects. If the connection string contains a password, this will normally be encrypted for the current Windows user.
However, this is not wanted if multiple people are sharing the same Windows registration. Setting the value to "true" for this administrator setting means that the password will not be written in the connection string. When the user clicks on a recently opened DBServer project, the log in dialog will always appear.
DBServerConnectionString [character string]
The system administrator can enter a DBServer connection string that Citavi automatically uses and that can't be changed by the user.
Authority [character string]
For Citavi-internal testing purposes only.